Skip to content

Now available. . . Play It Loud

July 31, 2009

Today is my birthday. The Wild Rose Press released my first novel, Play It Loud, three weeks early. What a wonderful gift.

I’m a writer.
Sounds pretentious.

When in doubt I think back to my childhood. I wrote plays in second grade. I slapped words on paper so I could perform for the class. I directed talent shows and musical reviews in sixth grade to hang with the popular kids. I toiled for hours writing an adaptation of a A Little Princess so I could portray Sara. No script, no worries. I’d write my own. Plays gave me what I needed and craved, a place to shine.

Over the years, offices and desks claimed my days while beloved family absorbed my mornings and evenings. The spotlight stayed cool to the touch. Unplugged. Covered in dust. Those of you who know me are saying, “Wait a minute. Didn’t you . . ?” Yes, I did work as a director for a few years. But since then I’ve written, typed, printed, filed, tossed, torn, scrunched, shredded, emptied, and cursed enough sheets of 8 1/2″ x 11″ to warrant mandatory classes in the dangers of deforestation.

This novel is my hope of brighter days ahead. A beginning.

Are you a writer? What makes you shine?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 3:02 am

    Wow! I’m so excited to see Play It Loud available. What a great story, I can’t wait to dig in and read the whole thing. Thank you so much, Gina! I also can’t wait to hear about your next book. Congratulations on the new release and I’ll be looking forward to more to come!!

  2. Regina Richards permalink
    February 16, 2010 5:11 pm

    Am I a writer? I ask myself that question almost daily. I could say: I write (sometimes regularly, sometimes sporatically) so that makes me a writer. But does it? I’m not sure. Is there a level of dedication, a minimun temp on the fire in the belly drive, a plateau of craft skills, a gift of talent, or some other magical something that makes one a writer? Wish I knew.

  3. February 16, 2010 10:38 pm

    Happy Birthday, Gina!

Leave a Reply

