Skip to content

Blog Dance

February 12, 2010

Blog Dance . . . sounds like a worthy idea and a fantastic way to force me into the 21st Century. Though truth be told, I’d be more excited if actual clog dancing were involved.

Still, I’m committed to helping my writer friends and to flexing my brain before it atrophies completely from schoolwork and commuting. Not sure about blogging, wondering if it will sap the creative resources I need for my fiction stories. Sometimes I think I only have so many words inside me, that I must parcel them out with care.

Regardless of my fear, I’ll willingly share my words with my friends for these next few days. . .with love.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 8:12 pm

    Brave and true words, Gina.

    Time is very precious. I don’t currently have a blog, but I appreciate everyone’s support as I guet blog between now and October. I’m trying to make up my mind if I have the time to commit to a blog.

    Get some more of those words out on the page. I’m ready for a second book.

    ~~Angi

  2. Regina Richards permalink
    February 15, 2010 8:38 pm

    “Not sure about blogging, wondering if it will sap the creative resources I need for my fiction stories. Sometimes I think I only have so many words inside me, that I must parcel them out with care.”

    I fear this same thing. It’s one of the reasons I’ve resisted blogging until 2010 (I only added it very grudgingly to my business goals list for 2010). But I’ve decided to give blogging a shot and see what happens. I can always stop if it steals my zeal for real work.

    So far though I am finding that not to be the case. It’s early days yet, since i’ve only been blogging a few weeks, but for now it feels more like a warmup exercise for the main event – writing novels. We’ll see if that holds.

    http://onelittleelephant.blogspot.com/

  3. February 16, 2010 1:29 am

    Hi, Gina!
    I’m just dancing through. I love to blog. I hope you’ll take a minute to visit me at the link above. New followers are always welcome. I write on my own blog every couple of days. I don’t feel it soaks up my creative juices. What takes up a lot of time is visiting everyone elses blogs!!! I’m trying to get a handle on that.
    Happy writing!

  4. February 16, 2010 4:40 am

    Ah, run out of words? Not likely. We, gals, do seem to have the gift for gab. However, run out of time? Now that’s a distinct possibility.

    Time is such a precious commodity. I think if I only had one more hour per day, what could I do. Of course, the realist in me realizes I waste a great deal more time than I believe. I’d love to champion the cause ‘Work smarter, not harder’ Maybe that will become one of my bucket list for this year.

    Thanks for taking time for us, Gina. May your blogging around inspire you.

    Happy Tuesday.

  5. February 16, 2010 5:19 pm

    No blog posts since July and now to Feb. You’re as on top of blogging as I am. There’s just too many other things (like actually writing) that I should be doing. I should just get organized and set aside one hour a week to do this. Is that too much to ask? Then again, I’d have to get organized to get organized.

  6. February 16, 2010 7:16 pm

    So fun to have you along for the ride.

    I look at blogging a bit differently than merely a time suck, which it is. For novelists who toil months and years without any feedback or interaction about their writing, it can be a desolate stretch, indeed. Blogging started out as a way for me to try out different voices and I know it helped develop the one that naturally flowed out. It’s certainly not for everyone, though.

    Take care 🙂

  7. February 16, 2010 10:09 pm

    Your comments for this blogging journey is a great way for people to get to know you. I even learned a thing or two about you:) Happy writing:)

  8. February 16, 2010 10:13 pm

    Blogging is writing. It doesn’t make any money but it does get you into the habit of writing. Then, while you’re in the mood, you can finish the blog post and move on to something else.

    Unfortunately I haven’t been doing much of either lately. So that advice comes from someone who hasn’t been following it!

  9. February 16, 2010 10:40 pm

    I love our group blog because it takes the pressure off. We also have specific things to write about…namely heroes!

    Once you start, Gina, you’ll get into the swing of it!

    http://chasingheroes.com

Leave a Reply

