Skip to content

Olympic Gold

February 18, 2010

Tonight, I’m fascinated by downhill skiing. It looks so fun, so easy, so breathtaking. Or as my eleven-year-old says, “What’s so hard about that?” I try to explain the strength needed in the thighs, knees, and ankles. And though he nods, I know he doesn’t get it.

When I finish a book that hits me in my gut, yet leaves me with a sigh of contentment at the end, I find myself asking, “What’s so hard about that?” Oh, yeah…the blank page, the lack of fresh, juicy story that makes me vow never to criticize another writer again, never to look at someone else’s work and say, “I could write that.”

Time passes, I write more pages, I forget the birthing pains, and have the nerve to ask the next time, “What’s so hard about that?”

Do you forget the painful moments when you’re writing’s easy and your flying downhill, in the zone, creating the best prose known to mankind?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Regina Richards permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:53 pm

    I love the “flying downhill” moments in my writing. They’re addictive. They’re what keep coming back to the keyboard.

    It’s that moment at the top of the hill, that instant of fear right before you push off, that wondering if I’ll be able to ‘do it’ again, to write something worthwhile – that is the tough moment. But it’s worth it for the thrill of flying downhill.

    • Gina permalink*
      February 21, 2010 4:18 am

      Regina,

      I think that word ‘worthwhile’ is prickly. I try to avoid it if all possible, for that’s the word my inner snarky editor uses when she wants to shut me down.

      Fly free, my friend.

  2. February 20, 2010 12:25 am

    Lately the blank page is winning the battle. It’s whiter than any washing powder advert and even more irritating.

    The war is not over yet. That page will lose its smugness soon!

    • Gina permalink*
      February 21, 2010 4:10 am

      Romulus,

      Yes, the blank page is indeed strong. Fear not for we have the key to it’s ultimate demise.

  3. February 20, 2010 5:21 am

    Only ‘because’ we forget the birthing pains do we try it again. Well, and perhaps, it just feels so great to get to the end. Think that’s how those down-hill racers feel when they hit bottom and cross the finish line? I’ll be it’s exactly the same.

    • Gina permalink*
      February 21, 2010 4:13 am

      Sandra,

      I could sooo identify with the moment Lindsey Vonn crossed the finish line and fell to her back crying for joy.

Leave a Reply

