Skip to content

Post Vacation Grace

July 13, 2012

If taking a vacation sounds like it may be the answer to all your prayers, beware.  The aftermath may resemble digging one’s way out of a sinkhole. The sun is shining, the air is clear, but the ground beneath your feet refuses to support you as you attempt to stand and progress forward.

When I set out on vacation I decided to keep a daily routine, starting with a morning devotional and allotting time to writing my blog and cozy mystery — nothing overtaxing, but a daily time for each. And exercise. I would definitely work in exercise each day.

You’re laughing, right? Smiling, perhaps? Foolishness, indeed. Why did I think that I would be able to establish routines while on vacation? Obviously, the part of my brain that is time challenged and prone to flights of fancy gained the upper hand.

Back in Big Southwest City with Too Many Highways, I am on my own for several days as my teens work and spend time with their father. This too should help me in my desire to establish routines.

Unfortunately, my psyche has taken over and determined that this is the perfect time to obsess about my lack of upward mobility, exercise routine and written pages.

To hell with my psyche, I say.

Guilt never made me write more, exercise longer, or progress toward my goals.

Today is a new day, one of forgiveness and grace and purpose. Today will be a brighter day… because of these simple gifts.

Image

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen FitzGerald permalink
    July 13, 2012 8:50 pm

    You can do it, Gina. One day at time.

    Each day is fresh with no mistakes in it. (Anne of Green Gables)

  2. July 14, 2012 4:04 am

    Thanks, Jen, for your encouragement and the cool quote.

Leave a Reply

