Skip to content

Sideways Move

August 6, 2012

Clean up and clear out!

Two weeks ago, I considered moving closer to my son’s new school. Could I afford it? Was it worth the hassle? After viewing the apartments within my price range, the answer was no.

This week, I found out that it was necessary for me to move in order for my son to attend a better school in a better district. Not sure why his father and I still don’t communicate clearly, especially since the filter of guilt and shame on my part has melted away with the remnants of our marriage, but we don’t. He hasn’t sold his house yet; and one of us has to live in the district. Don’t ask me why this wasn’t obvious. It’s a long story. With one precisely asked question and one vaguely muttered response, I now have no choice.

Of course, I have a choice; but if I want my son to have a fresh start, I have to sign a lease in the next few days.

Three days ago I gave notice to my apartment management. As I plumbed apartment locators and drove around the new neighborhood, I didn’t turn up any affordable apartments that didn’t require a step down into the mire of mediocrity. Two choices stuck out, one too expensive and one not too dreary.

This week was humbling. I raged, screamed, brooded, moped, cried, and threw a pity party. Friends and family have circled the wagons offering advice, aid, and sympathetic anger. Last night, during a time of sharing and prayer with my circle of friends, someone prayed that I would gain a new perspective.

Prayer answered.

Hasn’t it been difficult to live within my means? Haven’t I cried out for some way to cut corners and save? Don’t I want to change and keep growing in my ability to manage my money and resources?

This was the perfect opportunity. Choosing the less expensive apartment wouldn’t be a step down, but a step sideways. 

Be careful how you pray…for God answers prayer.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 12:34 pm

    I know these situations are no fun. I am glad it sorta worked out, and I, too believe in the power of prayer! Talk to you soon!

  2. Jen FitzGerald permalink
    August 8, 2012 2:14 am

    Thanks for sharing, Gina. God never gives you more than you can handle. You’re doing great

    • August 10, 2012 12:33 pm

      I am so proud of you! You are making decisions on your own. I am praying for you my pretty girl! We will see you soon!!! God bless you with a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

